The officer told me my
license would be suspended. What should I do?
Suspension, or ALR, is what he was talking about, but not all
arrests end with suspended licenses. In most cases, a
"Notice of Suspension" is served immediately after the
test is failed or refused.
The accused will
automatically lose his license UNLESS a hearing request is received
by DPS within 15 days of the accused receiving his notice of
Making a proper and timely
request will entitle you to a hearing on whether your license
should be suspended. That hearing will be conducted by the State
Office of Administrative Hearings (SOAH), usually within six
weeks of arrest.
here for a printable hearing request form you can complete and
fax right now!
ALR hearings involve many
different laws, such as transportation code, criminal law, rules
of evidence, rules of procedure, SOAH rules, and DPS rules. This
is another reason it is important to contact a qualified lawyer
as soon as possible. DO NOT DELAY.
to FAQ List --->
are for people 21 years or older, do not involve enhancements,
are not exclusive, and are limited to Texas.
**This page is for
informational purposes ONLY and must not be relied upon as legal
advice because it is NOT a substitute for the advice of a qualified
attorney, nor does it establish an attorney-client
Not certified by the Texas
Board of Legal Specialization.